The Poet’s Prayer, at Harvest-Time

originally published at http://www.allninemuses.wordpress.com

All Nine

Image by Becka Choat Image by Becka Choat

The Poet’s Prayer, at Harvest-Time

I have planted neither
field nor orchard.

My seeds are words.
I have sown them, here
in this small home-plot,
and any that were left
I have flung to the wind.
You alone, O Lord, know
where they have scattered,
whether they have taken root,
what fruit they have borne.

Many seem to have fallen
in poor soil, or on stones.

At harvest-time, I have nothing
to gather in baskets and lay
upon the altar. And so I kneel,
wordless, and stretch out
before you my empty hands,
which you fill again with seeds.

*****

Becka Choat is a lifelong lover of words who spends many hours each week in a room of her own, writing or reading and drinking coffee. Her book reviews can be found at www.beckasbookreview.wordpress.com, and her poetry and other musings at www.beckachoat.wordpress.com. You may…

View original post 7 more words

One thought on “The Poet’s Prayer, at Harvest-Time

  1. I love this Rebekah. There is so much signifcance and symbolism in your poem about the planting of seeds, seed faith and faith like a mustard seed. It really moves me. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

