Fan Letter

Dear Miss Rossetti, I remember you
long though it is since you have gone away.
Perhaps when you turned it was late for you;
yet your words counsel me and help me pray.

Though darkness and corruption worry, still,
a vestige of your thoughts also remains.
I mark your footprints on the road uphill
and seek myself the inn toward which you strained.

I’ve felt the weight of sorrow and sea-sand
and seen the brevity of spring and youth;
I’ve thought at times I’d almost seen the wind,
and all but drowned in ocean depths of truth.

I hear the bird sing in the apple tree,
and long for that birthday to come to me.

~ Rebekah Choat

2 thoughts on “Fan Letter

  1. Christina Rossetti was an English poet of Italian descent who lived from 1830 to 1894. Her poetry was the first that ever moved me. This poem of mine will make more sense if you read her “Remember,” “Uphill,” “What are Heavy,” “Who Has Seen the Wind,” and “A Birthday.”

Leave a Reply

