The Storming of the Fortress

Words hard as stone bombard the castle walls,
hurled with precision to break my defense,
all heedless of the wintry rain that falls.
A breach is opened in the outer fence.

The gate shivers beneath unflinching blows,
and soon the dauntless warrior gains the keep.
I hide myself, but all too well he knows
the passages that lead into the deep

and lightless chamber where my soul would stay
in silent shadows rather than surrender.
His footsteps near, and now the door gives way.
His grip is strong — but, oh, his voice is tender!

I give myself up; finally I see:
he frees me from myself, in spite of me.

~ Rebekah Choat

 

One thought on “The Storming of the Fortress

Leave a Reply

