A Prayer on Waking

Dear God, I cannot find the breath to pray.
Words wheel in silence but won’t be pinned down.
I don’t know how to face this dawning day.
I can’t walk; I can scarcely stand my ground.

I haven’t anything to offer you
but all I am:  a fragile, empty man
waiting for you to fill me up anew,
to feel your Spirit move in me again.

It seems like I’ve been waiting here forever –
I wonder, Lord, do you remember me?
Why are your hands closed, bountiful gift-giver?
Am I to wait here through eternity?

If so, give me the strength at least to stand.
Let me reach through the dark and find your hand.

~ Rebekah Choat

Leave a Reply

